top of page

What to expect from the NFC in 2022

Coming into this year I expect the NFC standings to look a little different from how they've played out in the last few years.

 

Written by: Chaim Cohen

10 September




This season I'm expecting a HUGE shift in the NFC standings and it should be obvious to everyone that it's going to happen. To start with our defending champions, the Rams have nice star power on their roster but they were a one-season wonder. For them to win that Super Bowl a lot of things had to play out perfectly for them, and they did (lack of injuries + Tartt's butterfingers). Super Bowl hangover is a real thing and I also expect their offense to struggle with the loss of Odell Beckham jr. Two other contending teams that will take a hit will be the Packers and Buccaneers. Unless Aaron Rodgers plays perfectly the Packers will have immense offensive struggles. Losing Devante Adams is the worst thing that could happen to them. While Aaron Rogers is a great QB, he is going to have a very hard time with this current receiving core. Besides maybe Allen Lazard, the rest of this core is full of rookies or fully unproven players. Also taking Rodgers' age and offseason into consideration he is not going to be patient with these young guys, he's going to get frustrated quickly and the Packers will be mediocre this year. The last team I'm expecting to fall off is the Bucs. While they are still talented I expect them to fall off because they just seemed to go all in last year. After their Super Bowl win, they came back and went all in again and I'm expecting them to just come back a little slow. Tom Brady is only getting older and the rest of the roster is too. The Bucs are talented but they are not a team that has their key players improving year by year. Godwin coming off his injury and losing Gronk will be tough for the passing game.



So Who’s Going to Step up and Fill In for These Teams?

There are two primary teams that I think will "shock" everyone and finish top three in the NFC. These two teams are the Vikings and the Eagles. For the Vikings, I think this is their prime Super Bowl window. For the first time in a while, they are expected to win their division. With an expected down year from the division bully, the Packers, the Vikings will likely run the NFC North. Last season Kirk Cousins looked really good and I'm expecting him to continue this level of play. With them having electric stars like Justin Jefferson and Dalvin Cook I'm expecting them to be one of the highest-scoring offenses in the league. Their biggest question mark is their defense but I think it will hold enough to get the job done against the teams they will be playing this season. While I am high on them I only think they could be a top 3 seed because of their schedule. For the same reason of schedule, I think the Eagles are going to have an incredible regular season. This entire NFC East is going to have incredibly easy schedules and I expect solid years from all of the teams but what puts the Eagles ahead of teams like the Cowboys and Giants is the historic offseason they just had. While I may not be so high on Jalen Hurts I think he is good enough to get it done when he is going to have A.J. Brown and Devante Smith to throw the ball to while sitting behind the best line in the whole league. The Eagles also had the best draft as they added Jordan Davis (DT) and Nakobe Dean (LB) (two Georgia Bulldogs). They even picked up James Bradberry to add to their secondary so I would argue they are one of the most complete teams in the league. While I don't expect them to go any farther than the NFC championship, considering their comically easy schedule I wouldn't be surprised if they finish as the 1 seed. As far as the after this year for the Eagles I expect them to be upset with how the playoffs ended and that will likely be at the fault of Jalen Hurts so I wouldn't be surprised if they make a push for Lamar Jackson to try and solve their one "weak" area on their team.

Comentarios


bottom of page